The Student News Site of Stevenson University

Stevenson Villager

Stevenson Villager

Stevenson Villager

Stevenson athletics names Hall of Fame inductees

Stevenson athletics names Hall of Fame inductees


(Photo from

Stevenson University welcomed seven new members into the Dick Watts Athletics Hall of Fame. Each inductee was chosen based on his or her contribution to their respective sports. 

The inductees this year include Allison Humphries Cuneo, class of 2011; Tanisha Foster, class of 2008; J.R. Jackson, class of 2009; Steve Kazimer, class of 2010; Matt Lukehart, class of 2010; and Lauren Zegowitz, class of 2010. Chris Ramer, former S.U. Athletic Director and the current head coach of both the men’s and women’s golf teams, was inducted as a contributor to student athlete success. Last but not least, the entire 2010 Mustang Women’s Lacrosse team was inducted as a Team of Tradition.

Additionally, this year’s celebration was more bittersweet one than in year’s past for two specific reasons. First, the Hall of Fame’s new namesake (the reason for its recent name change, in fact), Dick Watts, passed away on Oct. 25. Watts spent 23 years at Stevenson University as the Director of Physical Education. The second reason the induction was bittersweet is because of the continuing coronavirus situation, as this actual Hall of Fame ceremony had to be indefinitely postponed.

Therefore, The Villager took a look at each inductee’s individual contributions to Stevenson’s long athletic tradition.

Allison Humphries Cuneo was a member of the Stevenson women’s soccer program from 2007-2010. Cuneo was the Capital Athletic Conference Player of the Year as a senior and a member of Stevenson’s 2010 National Collegiate Athletic Association tournament team. She was a three-time, all-conference selection, and in four seasons scored 15 goals with 10 assists. Her coach at Stevenson, Graeme Millar, said that “he always knew that Allison was a special player. Allison was a freshman my first year as Head Coach and brought not only her talent to the team but her leadership.” Coach Millar also said that Cuneo consistently put the team before herself and is truly deserving of this honor. 

Tanisha Foster was a four-year member of the women’s basketball program from 2004-2008. With 1,265 points, she ranks third in all-time in scoring, and has the most blocks in Stevenson women’s basketball history with 187. She was a First-Team North Eastern Athletic Conference All-Conference selection as a freshman.

J.R. Jackson was a member of the Stevenson men’s volleyball program from 2006-2009. He is the program’s all-time leader in “kills,” with 1,511 and sixth in career blocks with 265. As a sophomore, he was a First Team All-NEAC choice.

Stevenson University Women’s Lacrosse Team. (Photo from

Steve Kazimer earned All-American honors three times as a member of the Stevenson men’s lacrosse program from 2007-2010. Kazimer was a two-time USILA Division III Attackman of the Year and tallied 116 goals and 131 assists for 247 points, good for sixth in career points, fourth in career assists, and seventh in career goals in program history.  A three-time CAC First Team selection, Kazimer posted 95 points as a senior (46 goals, 49 assists), the third-highest single-season total in program history.

Matt Lukehart was a four-year member of the Stevenson men’s golf program from 2007-2010. He posted a career stroke average of 79.9 over 55 rounds.  As a senior, Lukehart registered a 75.9 stroke average.  He was a two-time CAC First Team member after finishing fourth at the conference championship in both 2008 and 2010.  Following his senior season, he was named a GCAA All-America Scholar.

Lauren Zegowitz totaled 148 goals and 57 assists for 205 points as a member of the Stevenson women’s lacrosse program from 2007-2010. A three-time IWLCA All-Region performer, Zegowitz also earned All-CAC honors three times, including being named to the First Team as a senior.

Finally, the entire 2010 Stevenson Women’s Lacrosse team was inducted for being the first to earn a national ranking, reaching as high as No. 17 in the IWLCA Division III poll.

Chris Ramer, current head coach of both Stevenson’s men’s and women’s golf program and former Athletic Director, said that he couldn’t be happier with the phenomenal growth he has seen in Stevenson athletics and the university as a whole over the years. “For me, to see the growth of our school is incredible,” he said. In regard to his Athletic Hall of Fame induction, Ramer said he’s “really proud of being selected” and that he intends to keep coaching. “I have no plans on [retiring], as long as my health stays,” Ramer said.

More information about the Stevenson Hall of Fame and its annual induction ceremony can be found here

Donate to Stevenson Villager

Your donation will support the student journalists of Stevenson University. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to Stevenson Villager

Activate Search
Stevenson athletics names Hall of Fame inductees